Make your own free website on Tripod.com

  Earl Steffen

I received a B.S. in Chemistry from UM Rolla in 1972, then went to graduate school in medical microbiology at MU for a M.S. (1975) and Ph.D. (1980).  After a 2 year postdoc at LSU, I joined the faculty of the College of Veterinary Medicine at MU and have been here ever since.  I have two daughters, Jessica (30), a condor biologist (!) for Ventana Wilderness and hiking tour guide in Big Sur, CA and Sarah (28), a patent and intellectual property lawyer in St. Louis.  I currently get to spend every day in what feels like my vacation home on 70 acres of river hills country southwest of Columbia with my German Shepherd and Original Mountain Cur treeing dogs, the turkey and the deer.  We all manage to somehow coexistÖ  Oh, and Iím a Harley guy Ė I never really outgrew my love of motorcycles. Come to think of it, I never really grew up fully at all and Iím really glad I didnít!   Most of us should be coming to the conclusion that adulthood is highly overrated and we should behave more like high schoolers again Ė our responsibilities are dropping away and now we can!  Iím dating a reading specialist at Girls and Boys Town in Omaha (yep, 4.5 hour commute!) who trains teachers around the country in techniques and strategies to teach at-risk youth with rudimentary reading skills.  Sheís a fiercely proud Montanan from Somers on Flathead Lake, near Kalispel.  I donít deserve her, but then Iíve always been able to mostly avoid getting what I deserve - and vice versa!

Email: steffene@missouri.edu

Pix of my 2007 Harley Davidson Dyna Low Rider

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click your "Back Button" to return to previous page you were viewing.